10 scientists get UGC's Hari Om Trust awards

NEW DELHI, Sept. 30.
Ten scientists have been selected by the UGC for the Hari Om Ashram Trust awards for 1977 and 1978. The awards, named after outstanding Indian scientists, carry a cash prize of Rs. 10,000 each.

Hyderabad University, for 1977; Dr. S. Sriramachari, Institute of Pathology Indian Council of Medical Research New Delhi, and Prof. L. K. Ramachandran, Osmania University, Hyderabad for 1978.

The Sir. C. V. Raman award for experimental research in physical sciences has gone to Prof. B. B. Srikantan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay, for 1977 and to Dr. V. G. Bhide, National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, for 1978.

Dr. Homi J. Bhabha award for research in applied sciences: Dr. L. K. Doraiswamy, National Chemical Laboratory, Poona, for 1977 and Prof. E. C. Subba Rao, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, for 1978.

Dr. Meghnad Saha award for research in theoretical Sciences: Dr. M. K. Vainu Bappu, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore, for 1977 and Prof. M. S. Narasimhan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Bombay, for 1978.

The Sir Jagdish Chandra Bose award for research in life sciences is to be shared by two scientists for each of the two years: Prof. V. S. R. Rao, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, and Prof. A. N. Radhakrishna,