The Sines of India Bengalury, Wednesday, October 23, 2019, pp. 03 13 scientists honoured with state awards

TIMES NEWS NETWORK

Bengaluru: Thirteen Karnataka scientists were conferred with state awards for scientists and engineers by the department of information technology, biotechnology and science and technology at an event in JN Tata auditorium, Indian Institute of Science on Tuesday.

Dr CN Manjunath, director of Sri Jayadeva Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences and Research, and Prof S Ramasesha, honorary professor, solid state and structural chemistry unit, IISc, were conferred with Sir M Visvesvaraya senior scientist award for their achievements in science and technology.

Prof GU Kulkarni, director of the

ences, and Pratima Murthy, professor of department of psychiatry, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (Nimhans), were conferred with Dr Raja Ramanna state award for their contributions in science education.

Annapurni Subramaniam, professor, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, and Ranjani Viswanatha, associate professor at Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Studies, bagged Sir CV Raman award for young scientists for their work in physical sciences.

MM Srinivas Bharath, professor of neurochemistry at Nimhans, was honoured with the CV Raman award for his work in life sciences, while Padubidri V Shivaprasad, associate professor at National Centre for Biologi-Centre for Nano and Soft Matter Sci-cal Sciences, GKVK, won it in the agrinology field.

cultural sciences and animal husbandry sector.

The Prof Satish Dhawan award for young engineers was presented to Shayan Srinivasa Garani, associate professor of electronic systems engineering, HSc; CD Madhusoodana, additional general manager, Ceramic Technological Institute, BHEL; Pramod Kumar, professor of mechanical engineering in IISc and Amitabh Saraf, associate technology director at the Aeronautical Development Agency.

Gayathri Devaraja, professor of department of microbiology at Davangere University, was conferred with Dr Kalpana Chawla award (young women scientist category) for her contributions in science and tech-